Interesting Article – "Remedial Civility Training"

An associate professor of English wrote an interesting article in the Chronicle of Higher Education lamenting the lack of courtesy in today’s students:

“I am an English professor, but I teach a lot of general-education courses, including a large, required survey of Western civilization.

Every morning, after setting up all the multimedia components I’m going to need, I stand at the door of my 8:30 a.m. classroom in my jacket and tie and say, “Good morning” to each entering student.

Only a few will say “Hi” or “Good morning” in return. About half will give me a somewhat confused nod, not quite making eye contact. The rest will not even look at me; they look at their shoes and keep walking, exuding a vaguely suspicious and hostile air.”

Benton, Thomas H. “Remedial Civility Training.” The Chronicle of Higher Education.
07May2007

To read the entire article click here.

One thought on “Interesting Article – "Remedial Civility Training"

Leave a Reply

