[Repost FSU News]: Fayetteville State University Students Win Top Awards at Model UN Conference with Aid from Librarian Diana Amerson (5.16.2016)

Librarian Diana Amerson continued to be a vital asset to Model UN delegates at the 28th North Carolina Consortium for the International and Intercultural Education (NCCIIE) Model United Nations Conference.

Fayetteville State University (FSU) captured top honors at the 27th Annual North Carolina Consortium for International and Intercultural Education (NCCIIE) Model United Nations Conference held April 21, 2016, through April 24, 2016, at the Marriott in Greensboro, N.C. FSU swept the competition, taking home the most awards by a single university.  FSU was awarded the Overall Outstanding Delegate and the Overall Outstanding Delegation, the competition’s two highest honors.

Read more on FSU News here.

Questions? Contact Diana Amerson.

Previous Posts

Follow NCCIIE on Facebook!


Librarian Diana Amerson Selected as Scholarship Coordinator, 2016-17 NCCIIE Model UN Conference (1.12.2016)

Librarian Diana Amerson Selected as Scholarship Coordinator, 2016-17 NCCIIE Model UN Conference (1.12.2016) - [DACOR logo]The DACOR Bacon House Foundation will to renew its offer of a Metro scholarship for a student from the NCCIIE for the Academic Year 2016-2017. Librarian Diana Amerson will be the coordinator for each NCCIIE member institution.

The NCCIIE, North Carolina Consortium for International and Intercultural Education, Model United Nations Conference is comprised of the following schools:

  • Fayetteville State University
  • Shaw University
  • North Carolina Central. University
  • North Carolina A&T State University
  • Bennett College
  • Johnson C Smith University
  • Winston-Salem State University

The Consortium was developed to serve and provide member intuitions opportunities for learning in international and intercultural contexts. Specifically, the Consortium was formed to:

  • Provide international and intercultural learning experiences for students enrolled in the member colleges and universities.
  • Encourage interest in graduate studies and in international careers.
  • Offer opportunities for professional development of member institution.
  • Increase financial resources through cooperative efforts.
  • Leverage these resources through independent and matching grants.
  • Create and maintain a common catalog of information concerning international and intercultural courses, programs and activities.
  • Engage in constructive efforts to inter-instructional transfer of course credits.
  • Sustain efforts to increase awareness of international and intercultural education.
  • Serve as a liaison agency among national organizations and other consortia.
  • Establish an effective means for sharing international and intercultural expertise
  • Hold workshops, special seminars and special programs to focus on international and intercultural topics.

The DACOR Bacon House Foundation Metro scholarships are awarded for the purpose of encouraging American students to pursue majors and careers in international affairs. It is the Foundation’s intent that undergraduate scholarships are awarded on the basis of academic worthiness and demonstrated need.

Questions? Contact Diana Amerson.

Previous posts:

Become a Delegate and Participate in the NCCIIE 2016 Model UN Conference! | (11.30.2015)

model un conference 2016

Preparatory meetings are held from 2:00 to 3:30 pm in Taylor Science room 203 on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

Contact Librarian Diana Amerson for more information!


Previous posts:

#TBT: Librarian Diana Amerson, ModelUNC at FSU SGA MixUp in RJSC on Sept. 8th (9.17.2015)

Librarian Diana Amerson (DE/Bibliographic Instruction) at the FSU SGA Mix Up on September 8th, 2015 in support of the Model UN. Mrs. Amerson is an advisor for the organization, providing crucial resources to include the development and maintenance of the Model UN LibGuide.

If you’re interested in being a part of the 2016-2017 NCCIIEE Model UN, stay tuned to your campus email for updates on interest meetings and the upcoming conference.

Past Model UN News:

Contact: Diana Amerson | damerson@uncfsu.edu | (910) 672-1239

Librarian Diana Amerson Remains a Vital Asset to FSU Model UN Delegates, Students Win 8 of 11 Awards at 26th Conference (3.31.2015)

Last Thursday, March 19th, it was crunch time. Six students sat scattered in a dimly-lit auditorium-style classroom in Taylor Science. We sat in the front row observing the Model United Nations Vice President, De’Vonicia Mickens, presiding over the meeting. She was addressing the participants, though this wasn’t the entire team.

FSU Model UN members with Librarian Diana Amerson (Thursday, March 19th, 2015)
FSU Model UN members with Librarian Diana Amerson (Thursday, March 19th, 2015)

The abbreviated team of students met to make final hour preparations and plans with faculty advisors Diana Amerson (Librarian, Bibliographic Instruction), Wesley Fountain (Government and Community Affairs), and Dr. Jilly M. Ngwainmbi (Department of Sociology).  Students were being shifted and moved around: who would serve on what committee, who would serve as a moderator, who was assigned to which country.

Questions were asked, clarifications given. Mrs. Amerson stood at the classroom podium, navigating the LibGuide that she created and continuously curates for the North Carolina Consortium for International and Intercultural Education (NCCIIE) Model United Nations Conference. She reminded students how to access key information and resources that would be beneficial during their sessions and resolution-writing.

The NCCIIE Model UN Conference hosted its 26th cohort March 26th-28th, 2015 at the Embassy Suites Conference Center in Fayetteville, NC. Fayetteville State University was the host institution; Chancellor Anderson served as the keynote speaker to the Assembly Delegates.

With the ongoing guidance of Mrs. Amerson and faculty advisors, FSU’s student delegates surpassed their competitors, winning 8 of 11 awards. Below you will find a list of FSU award recipients:

Best Overall Delegate Brandon Sawyer
Best Overall Delegation Marcus Ellerbe & Brittney Koonce
Best Overall Leadership Marcus Ellerbe
Best Delegate Security Council Keorie McMillan
Best Delegate Committee One Brandon Cropper
Best Delegate Honorable Mention Committee One Octavis Harper
Best Delegate Committee Three Terronne Cuthrell

For more information about the NCCIIE 26th  Model UN, you can visit the Model UN LibGuide.